Skip to content
Builder Studio
Get started

Builder Studio vs Paper

Both put design on a canvas built on web layout, and both let AI agents work on it over MCP. Builder Studio also publishes the canvas as a live website; Paper's pages describe a connected design canvas whose designs export as code.

Side by side

CapabilityBuilder StudioPaper
Design
Canvas built on HTML and CSSYesLayers render with browser layout: stacks, grids and fill, hug or fixed sizing.YesPaper's docs say it is built on HTML and CSS.
Design tokens and stylesYesVariables, modes and styles, imported from CSS, DTCG token files, Figma Variables or Tokens Studio.YesAgents sync design tokens, styles and components between your codebase and the canvas.
Code from a designYesExport React and CSS for any layer, or the whole site as an Astro project.YesPaper says its HTML and CSS canvas means a design exports as code.
Design with real contentYesBind CMS collection fields to repeated layouts, and publish a page for each item.YesConnect your files, CMS or database to layers through an agent.
Agents
How agents connect over MCPYesA hosted server at https://builder.studio/api/mcp. Agents sign in with OAuth or a workspace API key; nothing to install.YesPaper Desktop runs the MCP server on your computer and installs a CLI that agents connect through.
Image generationYesGenerate images, video and audio on the canvas, paid from your AI balance or your own API keys.YesLimited on Free, with a larger weekly allowance on Pro.
Publishing
Publish a live websiteYesPublish the canvas to a builder.website subdomain or your own domain, with versions you can roll back to.Not stated
Custom domainYesCustom domains start on Starter (US$9/mo) with 1, up to 10 on Studio.Not stated
Plans
Free planYesFree plan: 1 published site on a builder.website address, 3 canvases and a US$2 one-time AI balance.YesUnlimited viewers and editors, and 100 MCP tool calls a week.
Paid plansYesStarter US$9/mo, Pro US$20/mo, Studio US$99/mo.YesPro is $20 per editor a month, or $16 billed yearly, with 1M MCP tool calls a week.
People editingPartly1 member per workspace on Free, 2 on Pro and 5 on Studio, owner included.YesEditors are free on the Free plan; Pro is priced per editor.

Which fits your work

Questions before you choose

Do both work with Claude Code, Codex and Cursor?

Yes. Paper connects them through Paper Desktop and its CLI on your computer. Builder Studio is a hosted MCP server: add https://builder.studio/api/mcp to the agent and sign in. How MCP works here.

Can either one publish a website?

Builder Studio publishes the canvas as a live site on a builder.website subdomain or your own domain. Paper's home, pricing and MCP pages describe exporting designs as code, not hosting a site.

How do the prices compare?

Builder Studio prices each plan for the workspace, with a set number of members. Paper's Pro plan is priced per editor, and its Free plan includes unlimited editors. Compare Builder Studio pricing with Paper pricing for your team size.

Are there limits on MCP use?

Paper lists 100 MCP tool calls a week on Free and 1M a week on Pro. Builder Studio's plans list no MCP call allowance; the server limits how many calls each key makes per minute.

Sources

Checked October 29, 2026 against Paper's own pages and Builder Studio's current product. Where Paper's pages say nothing about a capability, the table says "Not stated". Confirm details with Paper before you decide.

Connect your agent and build a page

Add the MCP server to your agent, build a page on the canvas and publish it.